BGP Litigation represents clients in criminal proceedings, with a particular focus on white collar matters.

Our attorneys handle a wide range of criminal law defense matters, including:

  • initiating civil action in the framework of criminal proceedings, and representing complainants;
  • providing legal advice and protecting the interests of corporate management and owners in the course of preliminary enquiries, preliminary investigations and judicial proceedings;
  • advising on anti-money laundering and anti-corruption legislation, including compliance issues;
  • organizing, coordinating and conducting internal corporate investigations into suspected violations;
  • prompt evaluation of criminal risks associated with relationships under civil law, and implementation of preventive measures prior to enquiries by law enforcement authorities.
 
Our Experience
  • BGP Litigation obtained a judgment of acquittal for a city administrator of a sub-federal constituent entity of the Russian Federation who had been accused of a serious crime involving abuse of authority. The defense team's meticulous analysis of the materials compiled by the investigation, which lasted more than a year, led the court to deliver a fair verdict, despite unprecedented media pressure.
  • Our attorneys, taking into account various macroeconomic factors, worked together with the shareholders and senior management of a bank that had its license revoked by the Central Bank of Russia to formulate and implement a joint plan of action in order to protect them against unsubstantiated accusations and safeguard the bank's assets.
  • The elaboration of a considered position by our legal team together with a client in evaluating the evidence in a RUB 1 billion criminal fraud case relating to a partially government-owned bank set the foundation for the conclusion of a mediation agreement providing for compensation of damage and cooperation with the investigation. As a result, the client was justifiably released from custody.
  • Representing the majority shareholder in a large holding as complainant, BGP Litigation collected information in a criminal proceeding into theft of assets worth USD 80 million, which provided the investigation with grounds to obtain provisional relief in the form of freezing the accused's assets and bank accounts.
  • Defending the management of a commercial bank against twenty charges of fraud for an aggregate value of RUB 6 million, the defense team successfully had the charges reduced, with the court ultimately handing down an inconsequential penalty. In constructing the defense, the focus was on robust assessment of the evidence rather than challenging the events themselves.
  • Representing the owner of a manufacturing firm in a RUB 120 million criminal tax evasion case against it, our attorneys managed to have the amount of damages reduced. The client was assessed a penalty in the form of a fine.

Команда BGP Litigation представляет интересы клиентов в ходе уголовного судопроизводства, в частности по делам экономической и коррупционной направленности.

Наши адвокаты решают широкий спектр задач, связанных с уголовно-правовой защитой, включая:

  • предъявление гражданских исков в уголовном процессе и представление интересов потерпевших;
  • правовая поддержка и защита руководителей и собственников организаций в ходе доследственной проверки, предварительного расследования и судебного разбирательства;
  • консультирование по законодательству в области противодействия легализации денежных средств, добытых преступным путем, и коррупции, а также по соблюдению обязательных процедур в данных областях;
  • организацию, координацию и проведение внутренних корпоративных расследований предполагаемых правонарушений;
  • своевременную оценку уголовно-правовых рисков, вытекающих из гражданских правоотношений, и принятие превентивных мер до проверочных мероприятий со стороны правоохранительных органов как один из факторов успешной работы наших клиентов. 
 
Наш опыт
  • Адвокаты BGP Litigation добились оправдательного приговора в отношении сити-менеджера одного из субъектов Российской Федерации, обвинявшегося в тяжком преступлении с использованием служебного положения. Тщательный анализ стороной защиты материалов следствия, длившегося свыше года, несмотря на беспрецедентное давление со стороны СМИ, дал основания суду вынести справедливый вердикт.
  • Нашими юристами с учетом макроэкономических факторов разработан и реализован совместно с акционерами и топ-менеджерами банка, у которого ЦБ РФ отозвана лицензия, план совместных действий по защите имущества, а также по защите от необоснованного обвинения.
  • Выработка с клиентом взвешенной позиции по оценке доказательств в уголовном деле о мошенничестве на 1 млрд руб. в отношении банка с государственным участием дала основание для заключения медиативного соглашения о возмещении ущерба и о сотрудничестве со следствием. В результате клиент обоснованно освобожден из-под стражи.
  • Собранные адвокатами BGP Litigation в интересах потерпевшего, являющегося мажоритарным акционером крупного холдинга, сведения по уголовному делу о хищении активов в размере 80 млн долл. США дали основания следствию для обеспечительных мер по возмещению ущерба в виде ареста имущества и счетов обвиняемого.
  • Защищая интересы руководства коммерческого банка от обвинений в мошенничестве по двадцати эпизодам на общую сумму 60 млн руб., сторона защиты добилась смягчения квалификации и применения судом незначительной санкции. При этом акцент был сделан на достоверную оценку доказательств вместо оспаривания событий.
  • Представление интересов собственника производственной компании в рамках возбужденного против него уголовного дела по статье УК РФ "Уклонение от уплаты налогов и (или) сборов с организаций" на сумму 120 млн руб. Адвокаты нашей фирмы добились снижения суммы вменяемого ущерба. Клиенту назначено наказание в виде штрафа.