We are one of only a few firms that concentrate on complex cross-border L&DR matters. Our experience allows us to find unique solutions using legal instruments available in various jurisdictions:

  • litigation and international commercial arbitration, with a focus on complex cases involving parallel proceedings in multiple jurisdictions;
  • protecting clients' financial interests, including at the early stages of proceedings, with the aid of provisional relief.

When accepting a mandate, from the very outset we analyze all key aspects of the dispute, including:

  • which jurisdictions are or may be involved in the conflict;
  • whether the opponent has assets in relation to which provisional relief and execution and levy may be ordered;
  • whether legal advisors with expertise on the law of foreign jurisdictions and other experts are required;
  • priority areas of work given the objective and time frames under the mandate.

In some cases it is advisable to initiate one or more ancillary proceedings to obtain evidence or maintain the status quo for the duration of the dispute.

The risks associated with insolvency proceedings involving the parties in various jurisdictions are subject to separate analysis. The firm has experience advising on cross-border bankruptcies, including representing foreign management with regard to execution and levy against assets located in Russia.

The firm's White Collar Criminal Defense team can assess the risks inherent in a dispute at an early stage and formulate tactics for countermeasures.

 

Our Experience
  • Represented the interests of a large European bank in more than 50 individual court proceedings in Russia, many of which were reviewed by the Presidium of the Supreme Arbitration Court and Judicial Board for Economic Disputes of the Supreme Court of the Russian Federation.
  • Represented shareholder interests for a large construction materials manufacturer during the settlement of a conflict related to the ownership and management of certain enterprises producing concrete in Siberia.
  • Represented shareholder interests for one of the largest development companies in a dispute related to claiming losses from a former top-manager in Russia and Cyprus.
  • Represented the interests of a Cyprus company in the international commercial arbitration court (Arbitration rules of the Stockholm Chamber of Commerce Arbitration Institute, place of arbitration: Stockholm) during a dispute over a breach of an option agreement with one of the largest communication operators.
  • Represented the interests of a receiver in a large bank on reclaiming ownership of a building in downtown Moscow.
  • Consulted a Swiss industrial group of companies regarding a dispute over a tender to implement a public-private partnership project in one of Russia’s regions.
  • Represented creditors during a corporate conflict over a 100 mln USD property in Moscow which involved supporting judicial proceedings in both Russia and Cyprus, appealing asset-stripping deals, obtaining injunctive relief and establishing physical control over the property.
  • Represented a minority shareholder in a large IT company during a corporate conflict against majority shareholders. Obtained injunctive relief in Cyprus and in Russia, represented the client’s interests in BVI, Cyprus and Russia, and negotiated an out-of-court settlement with the opposing parties.
  • Represented the minority shareholders of a large publishing holding company with annual revenue of more than 100 mln USD in a corporate conflict against majority shareholders. Coordinated the negotiation process, and signed an out-of-court settlement.

Мы являемся одной из немногих фирм, практика разрешения споров которой в основном сконцентрирована на сопровождении сложных трансграничных процессов. Данный опыт позволяет находить уникальные решения с использованием правового инструментария в различных юрисдикциях:

  • ведение процессов в судах и международном коммерческом арбитраже с фокусом на сложные споры, ведущиеся параллельно в нескольких юрисдикциях;
  • обеспечение имущественных интересов клиентов, в том числе на ранних стадиях разбирательства с помощью мер предварительного характера.

С самого начала работы по проекту мы детально анализируем все ключевые аспекты спорной ситуации, в том числе:

  • какие юрисдикции задействованы или могут быть задействованы в конфликте;
  • наличие у оппонента имущества, на которое возможно наложение обеспечительных мер или обращение взыскания;
  • состав команды консультантов по праву иностранных юрисдикций (если необходимо) и экспертов;
  • приоритетные направления работы с учетом поставленной цели и сроков.

В ряде случаев целесообразно инициировать один или несколько вспомогательных процессов для того, чтобы получить доказательства или сохранить status quo на время спора.

Отдельному анализу подлежат риски, связанные с процедурами несостоятельности сторон в различных юрисдикциях. Опыт фирмы включает сопровождение трансграничных банкротств, в том числе представление интересов иностранных управляющих в ходе обращения взыскания на активы, находящиеся в России.

Наличие в фирме практики уголовного права позволяет на ранней стадии оценить риски, возникающие в связи с конфликтной ситуацией, а также разработать тактику принятия ответных мер.

 

Наш опыт
  • Представление интересов крупного европейского банка в более чем 50 отдельных судебных разбирательствах в России, многие из которых попали на рассмотрение Президиума Высшего Арбитражного Суда РФ и Судебной коллегии по экономическим спорам Верховного Суда РФ.
  • Представление интересов акционеров крупного производителя строительных материалов в урегулировании конфликта по поводу владения и управления предприятиями, производящими цемент на территории Сибири.
  • Представление интересов акционеров одной из крупнейших девелоперских компаний в спорах о взыскании убытков с бывшего топ-менеджера в России и Республике Кипр.
  • Представление интересов кипрской компании в международном коммерческом арбитраже (правила Арбитражного института Торговой палаты г. Стокгольма, место разбирательства Стокгольм) в споре с одним из крупнейших сотовых операторов связи в связи с нарушением опционного соглашения.
  • Представление интересов конкурсного управляющего крупного банка в споре о возврате в собственность здания в центре Москвы.
  • Консультирование швейцарской промышленной группы компаний в связи с оспариванием итогов конкурса на право реализации проекта ГЧП в одном из регионов России.
  • Представление кредиторов в корпоративном конфликте вокруг объекта недвижимости в Москве стоимостью $100 млн, включая сопровождение судебных процессов в РФ и на Кипре, оспаривание сделок, связанных с выводом активов, получение обеспечительных мер и установление физического контроля над активом.
  • Сопровождение миноритарного акционера крупной IT-компании в корпоративном конфликте против мажоритарных акционеров. Получение обеспечительных мер на Кипре и в РФ, представление интересов клиента на BVI, Кипре и в РФ, переговоры с оппонентами и достижение мирового соглашения.
  • Представление миноритарных акционеров крупного издательского холдинга с выручкой более $100 млн в корпоративном конфликте против мажоритарных акционеров. Координация переговорного процесса, заключение мирового соглашения.